Events

Submitted by admin on Thu, 12/03/2020 - 15:28

 

SECOND ANNUAL MINISTERIAL CONFERENCE AAA

Food Security Facing Climate Change

aaa

Context

 

The Second Annual Conference of the AAA Ministers is organized under the banner « Food Security Facing Climate Change ». It aims to advocate for sustained efforts to ensure food security in Africa against a backdrop of accelerating climate change by mobilizing international financial resources. The conference brings together key financial and technical institutions, donors, the private sector, research and development institutions, universities and scientists to fostering the upscaling of the adaptation of African agriculture to climate change. It will also gather the Scientific Committee of the AAA Initiative, composed of leading international experts and scientists, ensuring the scientific and technical relevance of the way ahead.

The Second Annual Conference of the AAA Ministers is organized during twodays 4-5 November 2019, hosted by the Mohammed VI Polytechnic University (Morocco). The first day is devoted to the Scientific Day, led by the Scientific Committee of the AAA Initiative, for examining key issues for the African agriculture, as well as the way forward to fostering financial resources and the role of the private sector, to ensure Food security in Africa under the pressure of climate change. In parallel of the Scientific Day, the Donors Roundtable will discuss ways to mobilize the necessary funds for the identification and implementation of agricultural projects in Africa. During the second day, the African Ministers of Agriculture will meet for advising on vision and strategic routes for the AAA Initiative.

Workshop

first dialogue on mobilizing resources at scale to support Adaptation and Resilience of Agriculture in Africa.
22 - 23 July 2019, Rabat

aaa

Contexte général

The year 2020 will mark the beginning of the first cycle of the Nationally Determined Contributions (NDC). The NDC implementation period runs for five (5) or ten (10) years depending on the time horizon defined by countries in their submission. The actions and measures identified in the NDC are expected to start delivering outcomes to ensure countries achieve the targets and ambitions set in their NDC by the end of the implementation period. Showing leadership and ambition for climate actions, all 54 countries have signed the Paris Agreement and submitted ambitious conditional and unconditional Intended Nationally Determined Contributions (INDCs). More than fifty (50) countries have ratified ambitious NDCs, with investment requirements above US$ 2.5 trillion, it is crucial that African countries are fully engaged with the implementation of their NDCs and secured significant and adequate support withmeans of implementation. The total cost of adaptation estimated for all African countries is US$7.4 billion a year consistent with the range of US$7-15 billion a year estimated by the UNEP Adaptation Gap Report.Since the submissions of their NDC in 2014, African countries have undertaken several steps to advance the implementation of their communicated NDC by:

aaa undertaking consultations on the implementation of NDC;

aaa refining or updating the analysis underpinning the NDC;

aaa developing NDC implementation or investment plans that prioritize specific sectorial or cross sectorial climate actions;

aaa aligning their NDC actions with their countries policy priorities;

aaa designing institutional arrangements and coordination mechanisms to support NDC implementation ;

aaa improving the regulatory and institutionalframework;

aaa identifying and prioritizing policies and measures;

aaa assessing how to attract or reorient investments toward climate actions and, designing monitoring systems to measure progress toward NDC goals etc.

These steps are important. They are necessary pre-conditions and enablers of effective actions that need to be implemented for delivery of the targets associated to NDC. However there is need to better understand how much has been actually delivered towards effective implementation of the NDC of African countries. Expectations on all countries to meet the level of ambition associated to the Paris Agreement are immense. While they are progressing towards the implementation of their first NDC, countries must also submit in 2020 the NDC of the second cycle, as well as their long-term low emission strategies in accordance with Paris Agreement Article 4:19 and Decision 1/CP.21 par. 35.

The current and projected adverse effects of climate change pose a real challenge for Africa, these adverse effects have proven to be detrimental for the continents economy, its people and its resources. Several leaders have expressed the need for climate action to become a high priority in the development agenda of all African States, but the challenges of addressing such multidimensional and conflicting imperatives remains important.

Le premier Dialogue sur la mise en œuvre des CDN africains sera l'occasion de faire le point sur la mise en œuvre effective des CDN dans les pays africains. Et de comprendre où en sont les pays dans leur cheminement vers la réalisation des objectifs et des ambitions associés à leurs CDN. L'accent mis sur le secteur agricole aidera les pays à élaborer une stratégie pour faire progresser la mise en œuvre des priorités identifiées dans ce secteur.

 
Objectives

aaa Take stock of the progress on the implementation of African countries NDC, with a focus on targets related to the agriculture sector.

aaa Share experiences on initiatives and actions by AAA, AAI and members states to advance country agenda on low emissions, climate resilient and sustainable agriculture.

aaa Explore avenues to maximize existing financing opportunities, including the Green Climate Fund to leverage resources at scale for a sustainable agriculture underclimate change in Africa.

aaa Identify the need of support for effective and strategic approaches to address the challenges of Adaptation of the Agriculture in Africa.

aaa To promote the exchange of experience and expertise and establish a collaborative framework between member states for the sharing of information and experiences on the implementation of the NDCs in support of Adaptation of the Agricultural sector

Expected outcomes

At the end of the dialogue, it is expected that participants have learnt from AAA, AAI, experts and other countries, developed strategic directions to support the progress of the implementation of their NDC, gained a better understanding of other African countries’ experiences and developed a common Africa strategy to support Africa in the implementation of the targets for the Agricultural sector.

aaa
Proceedings: The dialogue isorganized as a 2-day event.

Audience :
- 2 representatives per country,
- representative each of the GCF,
- national designated authority and the Ministry in charge of Agriculture, AAI and AAA experts and partners.

Download Provisional Agenda (PDF)

 

INFORMAL STOCKTAKING CONSULTATION

Climate Smart Agriculture Investment Plans for Africa

Rabat, Morocco, from 10 to 11 June 2019

aaa

Background

At the invitation of the AAA Initiative and in partnership with the World Bank and the Agence Française de Développement (AFD), an informal technical consultation was held on 10 and 12 June 2019 in Rabat to identify initial lessons learned in the preparation of National Climate Smart Investment Plans (CSAIPs). Climate Smart Agriculture (CSA) aims at ensuring food security through the simultaneous achievement of three objectives: productivity, climate change adaptation and mitigation. The CSAIPs, as defined by the AAA initiative, take FAO's original concept of climate-smart agriculture and apply it to the design of a portfolio of field and bankable projects in the agricultural sector, in line with national contributions and national strategies. Already in 2017, the AAA Initiative had organized with the World Bank and NDC-Partnership a first technical meeting on the theme of CSAIPs, in order to launch the preparation of three of them (Côte d'Ivoire, Mali and Morocco). The CSAIPs are seen as a key means to promote, at the national level, sustainable investments in agriculture in Africa in the light of climate change predictions.

 

 
 
Objective :

The overall objective of this consultation meeting was to identify initial lessons learned from the different technical approaches used in the preparation of CSAIP at different levels of preparation and implementation in 7 African countries and Bangladesh. The intermediate objective is to assist, through CSAIP's, other African countries in translating their agricultural NDCs into CSAIPs - and to highlight and strengthen the "CSA content" of their agricultural investment priorities. This consultation was conceived as a capacity building exercise for countries and teams working on CSAIP's, with the support of technical experts and the participation of representatives of funding and external support agencies that can potentially contribute to the implementation of the CSAIPs.

Modalities: The dialogue is organized over 2 days.

This informal consultation was attended by more than fifty (50) participants from different countries (Burkina-Faso, Cameroon, Ghana and Republic of Congo, Côte d'Ivoire, Mali, Morocco, Bangladesh, Lesotho, Zambia, Zimbabwe, etc), international technical and financial institutions (WB, ISDB, AFD, FAO, NDC-P, US_FAS, ...) and national partners (OCP, UM6P, MAMDA, GCAM).

aaa

 

International scientific symposium

International scientific symposium
July 14, 2016 – Skhirat (Morocco)

aaa

On July 14th, 2016, almost 100 international scientists gathered in Skhirat. This was an opportunity for them to share their scientific reflections and put forward solutions around the three technical pillars of the Adaptation of African Agriculture: soil management, agricultural water control and climaterisk management. Among the participants, there were representatives of the IPCC, the UNFCCC, the FAO, the INRA (Morocco), the International Center for Development and Climate Change (Canada), Africa Rice, the General Council for Agricultural Development (Morocco), and various African universities.

« Given the existing challenges, science iscalledupon, today more than ever before, to provide the appropriate answers to solve the problems facing African agriculture because of climate change »

Prof. Mohamed Badraoui, INRA Director, Morocco

 

 

FIRST ANNUAL MINISTERIAL CONFERENCE AAA

High Meeting on the AAA Initiative
September 29-30, 2016 - Marrakesh (Morocco)

aaa

September 29th and 30th, a high-level international conference was held in Marrakech, in the presence of government representatives (the African ministers of agriculture), international organizations NGOs and corporates, as well as donors, project proponents, scientists and experts. The objective of the conference was to present the technical solutions and best practices, to develop the AAA initiative with concrete proposals in terms of projects and funding, and especially to encourage all the stakeholders to make sure that the Adaptation of African Agriculture be placed at the heart of climate discussions.

 

COP22 Exhibition

COP22 Exhibition
7-18 November 2016 - Marrakech

aaa

Find out more about the AAA initiative during COP22 at the exhibition space “Green Zone”, innovation’stent number 2, Stands 401/403, from November 7 to 18, in Marrakesh (Morocco).The main entrance to the site being on the Mehdi Ben Barka avenue.

COP22 will enable the concrete implementation of the commitments formulated in the Paris Agreement – which has marked a historic milestone – while it will also bring into focus the specific issues faced by developing countries, with priority to Africa. COP22 willbe the “COP of Action” and the “COP of Africa.” The AAA initiative aims to place the question of Adapting African Agriculture at the forefront of COP22’s priorities and discussions. The AAA platform willoffer COP22 participants an immersive experience both to facilitate the sharing of crucial issues related to Adapting African Agriculture to Climate Change, and to help discover a collection of innovative solutions in line with AAA.

Evénements

Soumis par admin le dim 07/02/2021 - 21:06

 

2ème Conférence ministérielle annuelle AAA

La sécurité alimentaire face au changement climatique

aaa

Contexte

 

La Seconde Conférence Ministérielle Annuelle AAA a été organisée sous la bannière « La Sécurité Alimentaire face au Changement Climatique ». Elle visait à plaider en faveur des efforts soutenus pour assurer la sécurité alimentaire en Afrique, dans un contexte d’accélération du changement climatique, en mobilisant des ressources financières internationales. La Conférence a rassemblé des institutions financières et techniques de premier plan, en plus des bailleurs de fonds, de représentants du secteur privé, des instituts de recherche et de développement, des universités et des scientifiques, œuvrant tous à promouvoir le renforcement de l’adaptation de l’agriculture africaine au changement climatique. La Conférence a réuni également le comité scientifique de l’Initiative AAA, composé d’experts et de scientifiques internationaux de renom, garantissant la pertinence scientifique et technique de la voie à suivre.

La Seconde Conférence Ministérielle Annuelle AAA a été organisée sur deux jours, les 4 et 5 novembre 2019, accueillie par l’Université Mohammed VI Polytechnique de Benguerir (Maroc). Durant la première journée s'est tenue une « Journée Scientifique », conduite par le Comité Scientifique de l’Initiative AAA, avec pour objectif d’examiner les principaux problèmes de l’agriculture africaine, ainsi que la voie à suivre pour mobiliser les ressources financières et promouvoir le rôle du secteur privé, de sorte à garantir la sécurité alimentaire. Parallèlement à cette Journée Scientifique, une « Table Ronde des Bailleurs de Fonds » a examiné les moyens de mobiliser les fonds nécessaires à l’identification et à la mise en œuvre de projets agricoles en Afrique. Au cours de la deuxième journée, les ministres africains de l’agriculture se sont réunis pour donner les hautes orientations sur la vision et les itinéraires stratégiques de l’Initiative AAA.

Workshop

Premier dialogue sur la mobilisation des ressources à l'échelle pour soutenir l'adaptation et la résilience de l'agriculture en Afrique.
22 - 23 juillet 2019, Rabat

aaa

Contexte général

L'année 2020 marque le début du premier cycle des contributions déterminées au niveau national (CDN). La période de mise en œuvre du NDC s'étend sur cinq (5) ou dix (10) ans selon l'horizon temporel défini par les pays dans leur soumission. Les actions et mesures identifiées dans le CDN devraient commencer à produire des résultats afin de garantir que les pays atteignent les objectifs et ambitions fixés dans leur CDN d'ici la fin de la période de mise en œuvre. Faisant preuve de leadership et d'ambition en matière d'actions climatiques, les 54 pays ont tous signé l'Accord de Paris et soumis des contributions ambitieuses, conditionnelles et inconditionnelles, déterminées au niveau national (INDCs). Plus de cinquante (50) d'entre eux ont ratifié des CDN ambitieux, avec des besoins d'investissement de l'ordre de 2,5 billions de dollars US, il est crucial que les pays africains soient pleinement engagés dans la mise en œuvre de leurs CDN et obtiennent un soutien significatif et adéquat avec les moyens de mise en œuvre. Le coût total de l'adaptation estimé pour l'ensemble des pays africains est de 7,4 milliards de dollars par an, ce qui correspond à la fourchette de 7 à 15 milliards de dollars par an estimée dans le rapport du PNUE sur les écarts d'adaptation. Depuis les soumissions de leur CDN en 2014, les pays africains ont pris plusieurs mesures pour faire avancer la mise en œuvre de leur CDN communiqué en :

aaa Entreprendre des consultations sur la mise en œuvre des CDN ;

aaa Affiner ou mettre à jour l'analyse qui sous-tend les CDN ;

aaa Élaborer des plans de mise en œuvre ou d'investissement des CDN qui donnent la priorité à des actions sectorielles ou intersectorielles spécifiques ;

aaa Harmoniser leurs actions des CDN avec les priorités politiques nationales ;

aaa Concevoir des mécanismes institutionnels et de coordination pour soutenir l'application des CND ;

aaa Améliorer le cadre réglementaire et institutionnel ;

aaa Identifier et classer les politiques et mesures en fonction de leur priorité ;

aaa Évaluer la manière dont il faut attirer et réorienter les investissements vers des actions climatiques, concevoir des systèmes de contrôle pour évaluer le progrès vers des objectifs des CND etc.

Ces étapes sont importantes. Ce sont des conditions préalables et des catalyseurs nécessaires à la mise en œuvre d'actions efficaces qui doivent être mises en œuvre pour atteindre les objectifs associés au NDC. Cependant, il est nécessaire de mieux comprendre ce qui a été réellement fourni pour une mise en œuvre efficace du CND des pays africains. On attend beaucoup de tous les pays qu'ils atteignent le niveau d'ambition associé à l'Accord de Paris. Tout en progressant vers la mise en œuvre de leur premier CDN, les pays doivent également soumettre en 2020 le CDN du deuxième cycle, ainsi que leurs stratégies à long terme de réduction des émissions conformément à l'article 4:19 de l'Accord de Paris et à la Décision 1/CP.21 par. 35.

Les effets néfastes actuels et prévus du changement climatique constituent un véritable défi pour l'Afrique, ces effets néfastes se sont avérés préjudiciables pour l'économie du continent, ses populations et ses ressources. Plusieurs dirigeants ont exprimé la nécessité de faire de l'action en faveur du climat une priorité absolue dans le programme de développement de tous les États africains, mais les défis à relever pour répondre à ces impératifs multidimensionnels et conflictuels demeurent importants.

Le premier Dialogue sur la mise en œuvre des CDN africains sera l'occasion de faire le point sur la mise en œuvre effective des CDN dans les pays africains. Et de comprendre où en sont les pays dans leur cheminement vers la réalisation des objectifs et des ambitions associés à leurs CDN. L'accent mis sur le secteur agricole aidera les pays à élaborer une stratégie pour faire progresser la mise en œuvre des priorités identifiées dans ce secteur.

 
Les objectifs

aaa Faire le point sur les progrès réalisés dans la mise en œuvre des CDN des pays africains, en mettant l'accent sur les objectifs liés au secteur agricole.

aaa Partager les expériences sur les initiatives et les actions de l'AAA, de l'AAI et des États membres pour faire avancer le programme national sur une agriculture à faibles émissions, résistante au climat et durable.

aaa Étudier les moyens de maximiser les possibilités de financement existantes, y compris le Fonds vert pour le climat, afin de mobiliser des ressources à grande échelle pour une agriculture durable dans le contexte du changement climatique en Afrique.

aaa Identifier le besoin d'appui à des approches efficaces et stratégiques pour relever les défis de l'adaptation de l'agriculture en Afrique.

aaa Promouvoir l'échange d'expériences et d'expertise et établir un cadre de collaboration entre les Etats membres pour le partage d'informations et d'expériences sur la mise en œuvre des CDN à l'appui de l'adaptation du secteur agricole.

Résultats escomptés

A la fin du dialogue, on s'attend à ce que les participants aient appris de AAA, AAI, des experts et d'autres pays, aient développé des orientations stratégiques pour soutenir les progrès de la mise en œuvre de leur CDN, acquis une meilleure compréhension des expériences des autres pays africains et développé une stratégie africaine commune pour soutenir l'Afrique dans la réalisation des objectifs pour le secteur agricole.

aaa
Modalités: Le dialogue est organisé sur 2 jours.

Audience :
- 2 représentants par pays ;
- 1 représentant de l'autorité nationale désignée du GCF ;
- 1 représentant du ministère chargé de l'Agriculture, des experts et partenaires de l'AAI et de l'AAA.

Télécharger l'ordre du jour (PDF)

 

Consultation informelle

Sur les Plans d'investissement dans l'agriculture intelligente pour le climat en Afrique

10 & 11 juin 2019 - Rabat (Maroc)

aaa

Contexte

À l'invitation de l'Initiative AAA et en partenariat avec la Banque mondiale et l'Agence Française de Développement (AFD), une consultation technique informelle s'est tenue les 10 et 12 juin 2019 à Rabat, afin d'identifier les premiers enseignements de la préparation des plans nationaux d'investissement intelligents pour le climat (CSAIP). L'agriculture intelligente face au climat (CSA) vise à assurer la sécurité alimentaire par la réalisation simultanée de trois objectifs : la productivité, l'adaptation au changement climatique et l'atténuation du changement climatique. Les CSAIP, tels que définis par l'initiative AAA, reprennent le concept original de la FAO en matière d'agriculture intelligente face au climat et l'appliquent à la conception d'un portefeuille de projets sur le terrain et bancables dans le secteur agricole, conformément aux contributions nationales et aux stratégies nationales. Déjà en 2017, l'Initiative AAA avait organisé avec la Banque mondiale et NDC-Partnership une première réunion technique sur le thème des CSAIP, afin de lancer la préparation de trois d'entre eux (Côte d'Ivoire, Mali et Maroc). Les CSAIP sont considérés comme un moyen essentiel de promouvoir, au niveau national, des investissements durables dans l'agriculture en Afrique, compte tenu des prévisions relatives au changement climatique.

 

 
 
Les objectifs

L'objectif général de cette réunion de consultation était d'identifier les premiers enseignements tirés des différentes approches techniques utilisées dans la préparation des CSAIP à différents niveaux de préparation et de mise en œuvre, dans 7 pays africains et au Bangladesh. L'objectif intermédiaire est d'aider, par le biais des CSAIP, d'autres pays africains à traduire leurs CDN agricoles en CSAIP - et de mettre en évidence et de renforcer le "contenu CSA" de leur priorité d'investissement agricole. Cette consultation a été conçue comme un exercice de renforcement des capacités des pays et des équipes travaillant sur les CSAIP, avec le soutien d'experts techniques et la participation de représentants d'organismes de financement et de soutien externe qui peuvent potentiellement contribuer à la mise en œuvre des CSAIP.

Modalités: Le dialogue est organisé sur 2 jours.

Cette consultation informelle a connu la participation de plus de cinquante (50) participants de différents pays (Burkina-Faso, Cameroun, Ghana et République du Congo, Côte d'Ivoire, Mali, Maroc, Bangladesh, Lesotho, Zambie, Zimbabwe, etc), des institutions techniques et financières internationales (BM, ISDB, AFD, FAO, NDC-P, US_FAS, ...) et des partenaires nationaux (OCP, UM6P, MAMDA, GCAM).

aaa

 

Colloque scientifique international

Colloque scientifique international
14 JUILLET 2016 - Skhirat (Maroc)

aaa

Le 14 juillet 2016, près de 60 scientifiques internationaux se sont réunis à Skhirat. Une occasion pour eux de partager leurs réflexions scientifiques et de mettre en avant des solutions et bonnes pratiques autour des quatre piliers techniques de l'initiative pour l'Adaptation de l'Agriculture Africaine : gestion des sols, maîtrise de l’eau agricole, gestion des risques climatiques et renforcement des capacités et solutions de financement. Parmi les participants figuraient notamment des représentants du GIEC, de la CCNUC, de la FAO, de l’INRA (Maroc), du Centre International de Développement et Changement Climatique (Canada), d’AfricaRice, du Conseil Général du Développement agricole (Maroc), et de différentes universités africaines.

« Compte tenu des défis, la science est appelée, aujourd’hui plus que par le passé, à apporter les réponses adéquates pour résoudre les problèmes auxquels fait face l’agriculture africaine en raison des changements climatiques. »

Pr Mohamed Badraoui, Directeur de l'INRA, Maroc

 

 

1ère Conférence ministérielle annuelle AAA

Rencontre de Haut Niveau sur l'Initiative AAA
29-30 Septembre 2016 - Marrakech

aaa

Les 29 et 30 septembre derniers s'est tenue la Rencontre de Haut Niveau sur l’initiative AAA à Marrakech, en présence des représentants de gouvernements (ministres africains de l'Agriculture, représentants français, espagnols, américains, etc), d'organisations internationales, d'ONG et d'entreprises. Étaient également présents les bailleurs de fonds, porteurs de projets, scientifiques, experts, leaders d'opinion et journalistes. L'objectif de la rencontre était de présenter les solutions techniques et les bonnes pratiques, d'étoffer l'initiative AAA avec des propositions concrètes en matière de projets et de financement, et surtout d'inciter l'ensemble des parties prenantes à se mobiliser pour que l'Adaptation de l'Agriculture Africaine soit mise au cœur des discussions climatiques.

 

Exposition COP22

Exposition COP22
7-18 Novembre 2016 - Marrakech

aaa

Retrouvez l’initiative AAA durant la COP22 au sein de l’espace exposition "zone verte", tente innovation 2, Stands 401/403, du 7 au 18 novembre à Marrakech (Maroc). Entrée principale du site par l'avenue Mehdi Ben Barka.

La COP22 permettra la mise en œuvre concrète des engagements de l'Accord de Paris qui marque une avancée historique, ainsi que la prise en compte des enjeux spécifiques des pays en développement, en priorité en Afrique. La COP22 sera une "COP de l'action" et une "COP de l'Afrique" . L'initiative AAA a pour objectif de mettre l'Adaptation, l'Agriculture et l'Afrique au cœur des priorités et des discussions de la COP22. L’espace AAA proposera aux participants à la COP22 une expérience immersive permettant de partager les enjeux cruciaux de l'Adaptation de l'Agriculture Africaine aux changements climatiques et de découvrir une sélection de solutions innovantes en phase avec l’AAA.